Give Bali a Break

23 Jul

Bali. It was a place I traveled to with a degree of apprehension. “It’s not really Indonesia” was something I was commonly told among other horror stories from friends who had been there in the past. I was worried that this island would somehow change my opinion of Indonesia, a country that I love dearly.

It turns out my feelings were somewhat unwarranted. Bali was a truly incredible place. From the rice paddies to volcanoes, temples to beachside resorts, chilled out Ubud to ultra-hip Seminyak- the island has it all. In a week I was able to experience an amazing culture and meet some of the friendliest people in the world and do a wide range of activities which allowed me to immerse myself in the island.

Mt Batur

People there would tell you their stories; the Hindu culture was so different to anything I had seen before with it being so overt yet so laid back. The landscape is breathtaking, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anywhere so green and the beaches were beautiful with blue water lapping the sand either pure white or black from the island’s volcanic past.

I went to Kuta- it wasn’t great but was nowhere near as bad as the media makes it out to be. It was to be honest no worse than Phuket or any other popular beach resort. These are places you go to quite frankly drink and hang out at the beach and not somewhere you go to have a deep cultural experience (although it could be argued that this too is a certain type of culture) but there is still the option to go out and see the “real” Bali if you want which is incredibly accessible with places like Tanah Lot under an hour’s drive away.

Padang-Padang Beach

Bali is diverse, which is something which can be said about the whole archipelago. I’ve never been to two towns in Java which are alike let alone to two separate islands and while I love Java dearly, Bali emphasises what I love most about that country. Unity in Diversity- with hundreds of ethnic groups and thousands of islands there are millions of opportunities to have a wide range of amazing experiences in Indonesia. We need to give Bali a break and recognise it for what it is.

An Update- I’m currently in Borneo and have a bunch of notes from things I did in Bali which will soon turn into several posts. I will attempt to get them posted soon but with so little time to explore Borneo, it may take a few weeks to get it up. There will be a bunch of new content from Bali, Borneo and Singapore soon though!

2 Responses to “Give Bali a Break”

  1. artictern travel tales July 23, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    Really enjoyed…nicely written! I had the same experience in Bali 🙂

    • courts July 23, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

      Thanks! It really is a beautiful place to visit. It’s just a shame it is getting such a negative reputation

Let me know what you think!

