Putting Everything into Beautiful Perspective

9 Jun

It’s amazing how easy it is to forget how spectacular the places we live are when we spend so much time traveling. Traveling is and hopefully will still be one of my greatest passions for several years to come but when we are stuck in the more dreary cycle of work, study and every day life, the great things your home offers can be completely overlooked. This becomes even easier after seeing some of the great sights of the world- Angkor Wat, Merapi, The Colosseum, tropical beaches in Thailand, the list is endless. I would be kidding myself if I said anything in my hometown could really compete with those places but there are still some pretty amazing places.

This morning I went hiking with a couple of friends down in a National Park which is only about a 20 minute drive from my house. In no time at all we were deep in the bush with no sign that the capital city of Australia was only a short drive away. We were able to hike to 3500 year old Aboriginal rock art, see all different types of wildlife and vegetation and eat lunch sitting on a waterfall overlooking a sprawling valley. The sky was clear and blue and it was surprisingly warm for winter and it really made you realise how lucky we are here.

I will always love travel- I love exploring new places and discovering new cultures and cannot wait to be back on the road again for another adventure (27 days until I head back to Asia!) but this sort of perspective really is an amazing thing and definitely makes passing the time stuck in the daily routine much easier.

Let me know what you think!

